Innocence- Gone with the Wind

In 1811 every girl’s goal was to be “innocent.”  200 years later, the goal every woman strives for is to be “sexy.”  In two centuries the sought after image in women has made a 180 degree turn.  The majority of women have an internal desire, a cultural role, to get married.  As girls we are raised to become wives.  I remember playing house as a child and dreaming about my wedding and my future husband.  200 years ago girls grew up knowing they were meant to be a wife, it was their “calling in life.”  The basic structure of marriage has not changed in all these years, but everything other than the foundation seems to be different.

In today’s society, when a girl looses her virginity it is treated almost as a celebration, a ceremony from childhood to adulthood.  Loosing ones virginity has become a right of passage, something easily accepted.  In 1811 if a girl lost her virginity, she was deflowered, ruined.  She was seemingly cast from society.  No one would marry her; in that one act she would have thrown away the life she had worked for.   200 years ago no one would marry you if you were ruined, today seemingly no one will marry you if you are a virgin.  The desire for innocence has gone with the wind.  One of my least favorite phrases is “You’re the kind of girl I would want to marry, not the kind I would date.”  Excuse me here, but is it not normal in this day and age for one to date before they get married?  Do they plan on proposing before they date me?  Well good luck to them because I would surely say no, but I will not change for them either.

This phenomenon is true; we are pressured by men and women alike to be sexy.  Every woman has her own reasons for being or not being sexually active.  For those of us who are not sexually active we seem to be in the minority.  When push comes to shove we come back to two alternatives in our heads.  One, we see the pool of available men shrinking before our eyes and ease up on our values, or two, we trust that God has a plan for us.  My vote is for the latter.  Jeremiah chapter 29 verse 11 says, “‘for I know the plans I have for you’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future’.”  If we have faith, God will provide.  There is no need for us to cave to the pressure society presses upon us.  God has a plan for us, and it is better than anything we could ever imagine.  Stay strong.  Be who you are and believe what you believe.  Don’t be daunted by what society says.  Live by what God says.  “And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love.”  1 cor. 13:13.

3 responses to “Innocence- Gone with the Wind

  • seeherinthemovies

    I agree that there has been a huge change of morals in our society. What once was deemed “improper” is now considered the norm. It’s sad that it is now considered strange to be a virgin when before it was considered strange not to be one (if single). The real question is, “Why is everyone so concerned about what a woman does or doesn’t do?” The ultimate decision is up to her, and it is a private matter that should be kept to one’s self.
    The one point I have a different opinion about is that girls want to grow up to be wives. I feel that in today’s day and age, that is the opposite. Women want to be more career oriented (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing), while Motherhood has become a second, if not third, on their list. The reason this is negative is that women view mothers as something less than desirable. What once was a cherished position is now treated as enslaving life choice.

  • youngchapngc

    I totally agree with your post! It’s so sad how our society changes their expectations for women so easily and women have to try to live up to it. Good for you too, for having the courage to write about this topic.

  • womenwithgod

    Thank you for your opinion on whether girls grow up wanting to be wives. I think that it differers for every little girl and every woman. I myself have always dreamed of marriage, but I am a romantic to boot. I appreciate that you brought to my attention the fact that I failed to mention that it is a personal choice and preference because I believe that with all of my heart.
    Love Forever and Always,
    Jess

Leave a Reply

