Compliments Day!

Wednesday, at Chapman University, was compliments day.  There was a booth set up in the Piazza, and when you walked by they would compliment you.  At first I thought this was a fantastic idea, but as time went on I realized that the only compliments given were superficial.  I realized that there is a difference between someone telling you that your dress is adorable, and someone noticing that you are kind and considerate.  The more I thought about it the clearer it became for me.  In this society we focus on outward qualities, not the characteristics that make us who we are.   I believe that it is important for us to focus on actions and characteristics.  Here is an example of a way to use our actions to complement one another, one morning when I walked into Jamba Juice to order my breakfast the man currently ordering turned around and asked me what I would like.  This man bought my breakfast for me.  This led to a great conversation, and it was so much more meaningful than when the girl at the booth yelled that she liked my dress.

In Mark 12:30-31 Jesus relates to us God’s greatest commandments.  “Love the Lord your God with all of your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.  The second is this: Love your neighbor as yourself.  There is no commandment greater than these.”  An easy way to follow these commandments is to encourage others, but I am encouraging you to do this in a way that does not assert many women’s belief that beauty is all consuming.  For me the easiest way to do this is to lend a helping hand.  When someone drops something pick it up for them, or buy someone breakfast or coffee.  These are great ways to get to know people to, for everyone is your neighbor.  Walk around with a smile on your face and do God’s work in a way that can encourage the belief in the self! Compliment your friends on things that matter, point out acts of kindness.  Show your support, and wear your love on your sleeve where everyone can see it.

Leave a Reply

